Angels, friends and The Devil’s Island

10 06 2013

About angels

Two years ago auntie B came into our lives. She send a poem about her beloved Cember, and it brought us together, that autumn, and we have been friends ever since.
(read: A poem and a goodbye)

From the first day, she was one of Pandora’s favourite humans. And Auntie B totally lost her heart to my wolf princess, and who can blame her?
This spring Auntie B decided to leave us and go back to the capital in hope of getting a job.
The financial crises which has changed the life for many people all over the world, had got to us and caused this heart-breaking farewell.
From taking really long walks two-three times a week, the three of us: Auntie B, Pandora and I, we are now just Pandora and I.
B has been gone for two months now, and really, I thought I had adjusted. Until last Sunday as I went home from training together with Pandora. I had laid a track for her, and as I drove home it was like Auntie B should be in the car seat next to me. She was there last summer.
And the memory made me cry all the way home.

Well Copenhagen, our capital is placed at the eastern side of Sjælland. The island we, in everyday speech, call The Devils Island. Actually you could translate Sjæl land into soul island, and the island stole our soul mate Ms. B
We have seen Auntie B three times since she moved to the capital, so it’s not like we’ll never see each other again. I think Pandora finds it quite weird that her favourite human has changed flat, and visiting B is a whole world of new smells.

All I can say is that Auntie B has become our angel. The one who always loved Pandora and who always listened and offered comfort or a good reply to difficult human problems.
We miss you, Auntie and you don’t have to hide your wings.

Kissing Auntie B

Kissing Auntie B

Visiting Copenhagen

As I said, we have been visiting Auntie B since she moved away.
And last time we were so lucky to meet with Rolf, Uno and Xtreme whom we haven’t seen for two years. It was so wonderful. We also met Fenrir and his ‘father’ Steen. Also Johnni and Kazan was there. It was very joyful days for Pandora who was the only girl and therefore capable of playing with all of the boys with no problems at all.
One thing that we observed with this gang was, that Fenrir, 8 month, wanted to play with Pandora. Xtreme, 5 years had a special interest in Pandora, but Pandora was only really interested (the love material way) in Uno.
Uno must be considered the Alpha male wolfdog in this pack, and Pandora considered herself as the Alpha female (there were no competitors anyway).
Whenever someone passed the garden on the sidewalk, or when Rolf and I walked with Uno, Xtreme and Pandora, only the two ‘alphas’ reacted to ‘danger’ or strangers. Xtreme and Fenrir could relax and did so, confident that the ‘alphas’ would take care of business.

A white German visitor came by

A white German
Followed by: Uno, Xtreme, Pandora and Ferir
(No dogs were harmed under photo shooting 😉 )

That’s how I interpreted it and the observation made me proud as I feel this breed still speak ‘wolfish’ and understand each other and every ones business in the pack.
The photos below are taken by Rolf who is such a clever photographer.

Auntie B, Pandora, Xtreme, Uno, Fenrir

Auntie B surrounded by: F.L.
Pandora, Fenrir, Uno and Xtreme

Pandora, 4 years, status

I can’t believe that Pandora turned 4 May the 3rd.
My girl is way too old. Soon, in 12-14 years she’ll die of age!
I hate that time takes small but deadly bites of my loved ones.

My 4 year wolfdog is so very different from her at the age of 1-2 and 3 years.
Pandora now can stay in our garden without constant observation. The garden isn’t fenced in but she stays and has done so for a year. We do of course keep an eye on her, as with a wolfdog you can never say never.
Pandora can sometimes walk without a leash in the street, but here she’s not completely stabile and never will be.
But she can be let loose and won’t run away and when I call her, she comes. Every time now. It may take a minute sometimes, but she comes.
She can do agility without running away. Actually she is pretty good.
She can leave the cats alone, even if they run in the garden.
She doesn’t often jump up of people anymore, but it slips occasionally.
Her favourite sport is still doing a track and she is magnificent.
She doesn’t really bite things to pieces in her daily two hours alone. And then … only a month ago she destroyed a plastic bowl, moved our pillows around and tore a carbon box to pieces. Nothing serious, but the restlessness in a wolfdodg will never go away I think.

Pandora van Goverwelle by Rolf Larsen

Pandora van Goverwelle by Rolf Larsen

I love my wolf princess. Every day with her is a blessing and she makes our life a lot brighter in the darker days.

REMEMBER you can follow Pandora on:

Facebook: Pandora van Goverwelle
Twitter: @PandoraWolfdog

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2013
Auntie B

In a way missing someone should be easier every day, because even though you are one day further from the last time, you saw them, you are one day closer to the next time, you will see them again.
However, I still get sad sometimes, because I miss you very much, and then I have to remind myself, that I´m very lucky to have someone so speciel so miss.
Thank you for making a difference in my life.

Kisses from Auntie B

Leave a Reply

