Seasons ending

7 11 2011

Deciding what to do

I still love my wolfdog. Regarding my last post.
But it has made me rethink our situation, and as it is almost the end of the season, we are considering not to attend obedience training next year. Agility on the other hand, we will definitely join, because the last two times we were there, Pandora did so well. Didn’t run away and did the rehearsals perfectly.

Now I consider trying to train Rally, which doesn’t demand a perfect obedience, but more intelligence and fun. Actually, I think Pandora would find Heelwork to Music funny, but I can’t find any courses near us. And somehow a wolfdog dancing sounds a little silly, but if she has fun, who am I to judge?
I still dream of building an action park for dogs.

Natural born leader

Two weekends ago we went to meet two Tamaskan dogs (Matsi and Sølve) and our Saarloos Wolfhound friend Loup (former mentioned here when he was a puppy) in the dog park in Odense.
Last year, Pandora would have submitted to any dog trying to dominate her. She doesn’t any more.
Among these dogs, no one else claimed the leading position, so Pandora took it her own very gentle way.

It was like she wanted the only male, Loup (the Saarloos) to join her in an alpha role, but he refused. He is young and still a little insecure.
Pandora seemed to really enjoy Matsi (the Tamaskan puppy) following her everywhere.
Oh, if Pandora and Matsi was together every day, Matsi could learn soooo many dirty trick from Pandora. Be aware, Hellan [Matsi’s daddy]. 🙂

Twice that day I saw Pandora go between first Matsi and another dog, then Loup and another dog. Like she was saying: This girl/guy is a part of my pack, don’t hurt them.
The other dogs respected that, and there were never any controversies of any kind.

I must say, I was very proud of Pandora’s ability to keep track of her own little pack and her gentle way to let the other dogs know, she was in charge.
If anything she is the smartest leader I’ve ever met. Dog or human.

It was a great day, I hope we get a lot more of those.

Here you can see a film from our trip.
Enjoy!


Czechoslovakian wolfdog, Tamaskan dog and Saarloos wolfhound in dog park


Actions

Information

6 responses

7 11 2011
Hellan

Matsi seem to enjoy Pandora’s friendship so much, she’s pretty much “tam-smiling” through the entire video. Pandora seemed to accept (allmost) all the naughty puppy-attacks that Matsi had on her repetoire. But don’t worry Pandora, next time Matsi has a couple more tricks up her sleeve! (c;
– We both (me and Matsi) had a very nice day, and hope to see you all very soon again. Take care all three of you.. (c:

7 11 2011
CsW

Thanx Hellan.
Oh that little devil of yours. She is sooo cute. I guess she’ll be quite a handful, but funny, she is 🙂
C ya zooon!

7 11 2011
Line Nino Pilegaard

I guess Loup was more of a Sølve dog – she just adored him while Pandora and Matsi could get a biiit too “crazy for her taste 😀

9 11 2011
CsW

I guess you’re right. Sølve is such a nice girl compare to the two crazy other girls. Yeah, Loup would be her darling, definitely 🙂

7 11 2011
Bethina

Stop dreaming about an actionpark – let´s do it!! ;o)

9 11 2011
CsW

£ $ €
Y’know the good ol’ song: money, money, money 🙂

But yes. let’s do it. It’s not forgotten.

Leave a comment